Chakras and Hexagrams

The word chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel, spinning vortex. The ancient seers perceived the chakra system as a column of energy centers that extends from the base of the spine to the top of the head. The higher the chakra, the higher its vibrations and the state of consciousness. Not only is every center associated with an area of the body, certain behavioral characteristics, and psychological state, but it also describes the stage of spiritual growth. Actually, chakras serve as junction points between the body and consciousness, between matter and the mind, individual self, and the Supreme Self. 

The first energy center Muladhara chakra sometimes called “the root chakra,” is located at the base of the spine and relates to our vital survival needs. It is activated at birth and is a base for further evolution, whereas higher chakras get activated with the spiritual advancement of the person. Each of the 7 main chakras is associated with one of the seven notes on a musical scale (C, D, E, F, G, A, B) and a color (seven colors of the rainbow – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet). The colors dominant in the aura represent the chakras with maximum energy levels.


The location of each chakra corresponds to an area of the body’s anatomy and is associated with a specific color and a sound. The game board of the Leela Chakra game has the same structure. The following description provides more detail about the chakras.

First Chakra Muladhara

The first bottom level. Hexagrams №№1-8.
First Chakra Muladhara.
Color: red.

Location: base of the spine.
Purpose: foundation.
Properties: to be here and have.
Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded. Survival. Deals with tasks related to the material and physical world. Ability to stand up for oneself and security issues.
Disharmony: overeating and obesity, rigid boundaries, greed and hoarding, fear of change, addiction to security.

Dominant: survival, vitality. The chakra is connected with our animal instincts. Full activation (the opening of this chakra) causes the ability of levitation.

Sacral Chakra - Swadhisthana

The second level. Hexagrams №№9-16.
Sacral Chakra – Swadhisthana
Color: orange.
Location: lower abdomen.
Purpose: movement and connection.
Properties: to fear and to have pleasure.
Happiness, confidence, sexuality, and resourcefulness. Connected to our sensing abilities and issues related to feelings. Ability to be social and intimacy issues.
Disharmony: addiction to pleasure, obsessive attachment, sexual addiction.

Dominant: pleasure and sexuality, the taste of life. It is believed that this chakra generates an egoistic perception of the world’s self-image.

Solar Plexus Chakra - Manipura.

The third level. Hexagrams №№17-24.
Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura.
Color: yellow.
Location: solar plexus.
Purpose: obey or subordinate.
Properties: to act and to be an individual.
Personal power – the right to think. Balance of intellect, self-confidence and ego power.
Disharmony: stubborn and arrogant, overly aggressive, domineering and controlling.

Dominant: feelings, will, control. Adjust to the event stream or create the event stream itself. At the level of “Manipura”, consciousness is still limited by crude levels of existence – sensuality, ambition, greed. Manipura chakra corresponds to a top stage of evolution of animal beginning of the person.

Heart Chakra – Anahata

Level 4. Hexagrams №№17-24.
Heart Chakra – Anahata
Color: green. 
Location: chest.
Purpose: love, compassion.
Properties: to love and to be loved, balance in love.
Love, forgiveness, compassion. Ability to have self-control. Acceptance of oneself.
Love truly rules the heart. When this chakra is activated, desires begin to be fulfilled.

Disharmony: all kinds of love dependence.

Dominant: the Anahata chakra is a transition from the animal aspirations of man to his spiritual evolution. When this chakra is activated, desires begin to be fulfilled.

Throat Chakra – Vishuddha

Level 5. Hexagrams №№33-40.
Throat Chakra – Vishuddha
Color: blue.
Location: throat.
Purpose: communication and creativity.
Properties: to speak and hear the truth.
Openly able to express feelings and thought, living creatively with a good sense of timing and rhythm; imaginative, colorful, and clear speech; trusting your inner guidance.

Disharmony: creativity for its own selfish purposes. All kinds of distortion of information coming from your Higher Self. 

Dominant: activity for other people, nature, planet. Creativity for the sake of creativity. Vishuddha chakra is the beginning of the erasure of a line between the individual and all that surrounds him. Here begins the path of the great integration of the individual and his environment: the family, the nation, the country, all the people of the planet and all nature, and further to the whole Universe.


Чакра Аджна

Level 6. Hexagrams №№41-48.
Brow Chakra – Ajna
Color: indigo.
Purpose: to see the invisible.
Properties: intuition and understanding. Penetration into the subtle world at the level of real own sensations.

Disharmony: using your intuition to exalt your own ego over other people.

Dominant: the ability to think and live holistically with nature. The Ajna chakra is the third eye that can perceive the subtle world. Ajna is known as the “gateway to liberation”. The full activation of Ajna means the concentration of man’s thoughts on the subtle world, on his Higher Self, which leads to a merger with the Supreme and liberation from the cycle of rebirth.

Чакра Сахасрара

Level 7. Hexagrams (№№49-56)
Crown Chakra – Sahasrara
Color: violet.
Location: cerebral cortex.
Purpose: to establish a connection with the Supreme.
Properties: the manifestation of various extraordinary abilities (siddhis). The Supreme begins to break through your body. Feeling of the reality of the Higher Consciousness thru one’s own experience.

Disharmony: using your abilities to exalt your own ego.

Dominant: spirituality, concentration on the Higher. The full activation of this chakra leads to bliss, to realization. This is the upper chakra located in the human body and its activation corresponds to the higher stage of the evolution of the person corporal.

Чакра Самадхи

Level 8. Hexagrams (№№57-64)
Transpersonal Samadhi chakras.
Sound: inner superhuman sound.
Color: white.
Location: above the head.
Purpose: Integration with the Cosmos.
Above the person’s head are a few more chakras, they are all responsible for various aspects of the connection of the individual consciousness with the Cosmic Mind. For the absolute majority of people, the states corresponding to the activation of these chakras are beyond, not having an analogy with their life experience, requiring a flight of fantasy. Get activated only if one absolutely and totally withdraws from his/her Ego identifications.

 Dominant: to establish a connection between the Cosmic Mind and the personality who exceeds the limits of one’s physical form. 

 Numerology hexagram

Author: Evgeny Kitanin (Vet Zatinus).

All hexagrams

This entry was posted in Гексаграммы Книги Перемен. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chakras and Hexagrams

  1. Sharon Hess says:

    Hello. This convergence is exceptional and provides such clarity. Please note that level 3 and level 4 hexagram numbers 17 through 24 were repeated. Assuming level 4 includes hexagrams 25 to 32. This is brilliant and again, thank you. So glad i found this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Confirm that you are not a bot - select a man with raised hand: